top of page
Search
  • dailyreprieve4me

WEEK 2 - STEP ONE - PART 2 of 3 (before Jan. 28th)

Updated: Jan 28


GET THERE FASTER


FIRST ABOUT TOOLS


In OA, we have tools that help us as we work the Steps. Remember to use these tools every week to support you on this journey. These tools will help keep you engaged when things get rough. Also, your use of the tools will help others stay engaged.

  • Meet with (phone, video, or in person) your Step Study guide, partner, or sponsor (recommended to schedule ahead of time)

  • Attend at least 2 meetings this week. You can find meetings by visiting www.oaunity.org/meetings or https://oa.org/find-a-meeting/?type=0

  • Make at least 2 phone calls every day

    • you may have to leave a message – that’s o.k.

  • Post on the text line at least 2 times this week (To be added to Whatsapp textline, text Becca D at (615) 496-9801 and give your first name, last initial, and phone number. Be sure to download Whatsapp to your phone.)

1) Post something about the step study

2) Post a response to someone else’s post

  • Be of service this week (Remember that service works when all else fails to keep us abstinent!)

    • do something for someone else

    • accept a service commitment for the Step Study

    • or be of service in some other way

  • Write or journal at least 2 times this week



STEP STUDY ASSIGNMENTS - SUGGESTED SCHEDULE


Below you will find a suggested schedule for completing this weeks Step Study assignments. Each day USUALLY includes about 30 minutes of reading or writing and 30 minutes of listening to a recording of a recovering members experience, strength, and hope on this Step. Assignments are suggested for 6 days with the 7th day being a day of rest or catching up if you fell behind.


1. Day One:

o Include an example of not being able to stop eating once you have

started (the phenomenon of craving).

Example: I ate donuts until I fell into a food coma. When I woke up, I

continued to eat them until they were gone.

o Include an example of going back to the food after abstaining for some

time (obsession of the mind).

Example: I swore off Oreo cookies 1,000 times. I didn’t eat them for over

a month. Then one day, my boyfriend was late—I got angry

and thoughts of oreos danced in my head. I tried to get them

out of my mind, but no matter what I did, I couldn’t. So, I ate

the whole bag.

2. Day Two:


3. Day Three:

  • Continue listening to 40 minutes of The Doctor’s Opinion by Harlan G.

  • Read the Forward to the 1st Edition (pg. xiii) in the Big Book (Alcoholics Anonymous)

  • Read the Forward to the 2nd Edition (pg. xv) in the Big Book ((Alcoholics Anonymous)

  • Read the Forward to the 3rd Edition (pg. xxii) in the Big Book ((Alcoholics Anonymous)

  • Read the Forward to the 4th Edition (pg. xxiii) in the Big Book ((Alcoholics Anonymous)


4. Day Four:


5. Day Five:


6. Day Six:




LIST OF STEP STUDY ASSIGNMENTS


  • Briefly describe your own Double Whammy:

o Include an example of not being able to stop eating once you have

started (the phenomenon of craving).

Example: I ate donuts until I fell into a food coma. When I woke up, I

continued to eat them until they were gone.

o Include an example of going back to the food after abstaining for some

time (obsession of the mind).

Example: I swore off Oreo cookies 1,000 times. I didn’t eat them for over

a month. Then one day, my boyfriend was late—I got angry

and thoughts of oreos danced in my head. I tried to get them

out of my mind, but no matter what I did, I couldn’t. So, I ate

the whole bag.



PRINTABLE CHECKLIST FOR TOOLS AND ASSIGNMENTS (WORD DOC)
Week 2 Step One Part 2 of 3
.docx
Download DOCX • 31KB




523 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page